Benita Hopkins | Week 2

As I promised, I want to let you know that I’m totally jazzed and excited to have started my fellowship with 

Not For Sale Campaign on July 1st !  The people are great, the experience is tremendous, and the work is fascinating.  We are an international fellowship team with members from Australia, Belgium and of course the U.S.   There is a wealth of information to learn, research and act upon.  This week we met the national staff and the rest of the local staff, continued training before starting the Investigator Academy for the next couple of weeks.  I’m so excited! :=)

As we’ve just celebrated, a day of freedom for all Americans, let us remember those that are not living a life of freedom. There are so many people not free today right here in this country and around the world.  Many are forced, unbeknown to themselves, into child-forced labor for many basics (“necessities of life”) we use today, or prostitution.  Once they get involved, it’s not that easy to get out of it.  Do you know where the coffee bean of your morning cup of Joe came from and who had to pick it?  Who picked the cotton for the shirt you have on today? Many believe this is solely an international issue.  Please allow me to enlighten you.  Many of the same beans that are picked by trafficked children are used for coffee, the chocolate bars and cotton shirts that are sold in American stores right now.  Many children can’t go to school because they have to make the quota to put food on their tables or are working in hopes of a better future that never comes.  We are working to make sure American companies are checking to make sure their products are fair trade. No child should have to work so that we can eat chocolate.

Here’s where you and I come in.  Most of you know that I have to raise my support for this fellowship program.  Would you please consider doing your share to help show the captives the freedom that most of us have today.  Thank you to those who have supported me in the past financially and prayerfully.  Keep it coming please! :=) You may help by clicking on my link at the bottom of my signature.  I want to play my part in the symphony of the world.  We all can be the hands and feet to help those less fortunate.  I’d like to represent YOU!

Until next time . . . .,

Benita, Not for Sale Campaign Fellow

https://nfs.webconnex.com/giving/benitahopkins

Leave a Reply

