Rebecca Lowe | Week 3

Well it’s a perfect Sunday afternoon here in half Moon Bay and I’ve taken myself off for a long walk along the beach to take in the beauty and reflect on this week. And what a week it has been! The first half of the NFSC Investigator Academy has been intense to say the least. We have been bombarded with information from all manner of perspectives, as each person brings their expertise into the fight against Modern Day Slavery.

We’ve had amazing speakers from the San Jose Trafficking Task-force, the FBI, lawyers who focus specifically on dealing with immigration issues faced by victims of trafficking, as well as hearing from our own amazing NFSC staff. One of the many highlights for me this week was hearing from Kique Bazan, one of the co-founders of NFSC. Hearing firsthand some of the stories of life in Peru and the efforts of both he and his mother Lucy was truly inspirational. If you are not familiar with their stories, I strongly urge you to read David Batstone’s book ‘Not For Sale: The return of the global slave trade – and how we can fight it’. As well as telling Lucy’s story, it will give you a fantastic insight into the state of slavery in our world today. But I digress! Back to the academy…

Well, despite the many, many highlights this week, it has been a difficult one for me at times. Part of what we have been covering this week is training on how to search for, and investigate, potential trafficking cases online. This process can involve reading through some tough subject matter, as men ‘rate’ the women they have encountered. The thought that these women have potentially been trafficked and subjected to some horrific things along the way, has produced really strong emotional reactions from me. As I read how objectified they have become, and continue to be subjected to unspeakable treatment I find myself getting so angry that people can treat each other like this. I know this response is normal, and if this crime didn’t affect me, I would be worried! My challenge now however, is to figure out how to channel that anger into action. I have no idea what that action will look like in the long term for me, but I’m excited to be on the journey of discovering that!

That is yet another reason I’m so grateful to be a part of the NFSC movement. Their emphasis on ‘hope’ for the future and finding ways to effectively combat modern day slavery (smart activism) is not only inspiring, but also serves to keep me focused and looking ahead for the possibilities where I can contribute my part to this fight. I seriously think the staff at NFSC do an amazing job, and I’m so privileged that I get to hang out with some of the coolest people on the planet!

So that is a snippet of the week that was. Thanks for your thoughts, prayers, emails and financial support. If you would like to give financially, the link is here https://nfs.webconnex.com/giving/rebeccalowe

If you have any questions or thoughts about what we are doing here, feel free to comment below! Until next time,

Rebecca

2 responses to “Rebecca Lowe | Week 3

  1. Smart activism…..a cool idea. Thinking of you as you find ways to challenge that righteous anger…

  2. Eagerly waiting for the next week’s blog …..

Leave a Reply

