Rebecca Lowe | Week 10

This week has been truly incredible and unexpected and formative for me. Nearly all the staff were in town for the monthly staff summit (we missed you Kevin!) and it was an amazing chance to reconnect with everyone and continue to build relationship and friendships I hope will last me a lifetime.  Each day I have been overwhelmed at the calibre of these people who have chosen to dedicate their time, energy and considerable talents to this movement.

As far as work this week, there are so many exciting things happening! I have been asked to be a part of getting Not For Sale Australia happening when I go home and so am preparing for what that might look like! I’m completely humbled to have been asked to be a part of it. There is great connection between NFS and key people in Australia and the future is looking really good!

As some of you are aware, my time here at NFS has been limited by my inability to get the appropriate visa to stay the full 6 months of the program. Since being here I’ve been exploring ways to stay longer and gain the most from this experience. The visa waiver program requires me to leave the country and I can’t head to Canada or Mexico. NFS supports a program in Peru and so I am heading to Peru at the End of September with a friend of mine, David. We will be there for 12 days hanging out with the kids at Generacion. I’m so excited to see get to see one of our international projects as see first hand the impact NFS is having around the globe. Hopefully, at the end of our time in Peru, I’ll be able to come back into the USA and stay for another 90 days!

Theres is so much going on at NFS. Next week we are having an Abolitionist Conversation in the city between Jack Dorsey (founder of Twitter) and our President, David Batstone. It should be a really great event, where these two innovators come together to explore how social media can be used as a catalyst for social change.

Plans for Global Forum continue! It used to feel like GF was so far ahead in the future and yet we only have 5 weeks to go! I’m really impressed with the speakers we have coming this year, and anxious to hear all they have to share. I’m especially looking forward to hearing from my fellow Australian, Tim Costello. He brings such a wealth of insight and experience to the Forum, as do the rest of the speakers we have assembled.

Exciting things are happening in the Freedom Store here too! We have a new staff member on board, John Carson who is bringing such an incredible background to the role. He has so many innovative ideas for ensuring we are creating new futures for survivors of modern-day slavery. I can’t wait to see how this section of Not For Sale Campaign unfolds in the future!

It’s difficult to convey in this setting just how fantastic a week this week was. Having everyone in the same place, on the same page, all bringing what they have to contribute really positively impacted my experience of Not For Sale. Hearing Dave’s ‘State of the Union’ gave such an insight into the where we are a movement have come from, where we are now and where we are going. It’s hard to believe at times that Not For Sale has only been in existence for three and a half years!

I also had the opportunity to get a glimpse into the masculine culture of the SF Fire Department and House 16 met to choose their fantasy football teams. It truly was an experience to be the only girl in a room full on fire men who are passionate about their sport! it was definitely an American memory for me to take home with me! I think that’s definItely enough from me for now! https://nfs.webconnex.com/giving/rebeccalowe

4 responses to “Rebecca Lowe | Week 10

  1. I read that whole thing and coldn’t quite work it out: are you enjoying your time over there? It was difficult to gauge whether you thought you were surrounded by amazing people or not, or if the experience has been a positive one!? Seriously, it’s great to read how passionate you are about the task and how much you’re enjoying it.

    But you did forget to tell you readers that it was your BIRTHDAY this week!

  2. I read that whole thing and coldn’t quite work it out: are you enjoying your time over there? It was difficult to gauge whether you thought you were surrounded by amazing people or not, or if the experience has been a positive one!? Seriously, it’s great to read how passionate you are about the task and how much you’re enjoying it.

    But you did forget to tell your readers that it was your BIRTHDAY this week!

  3. So excellent Becs! It really sounds like there is such great momentum and capacity in this campaign and that you are going for it with everything you have! Enjoy!

  4. Sorry Matt, I’ll try to be clearer next time! No, I didn’t talk about the Birthday this time. I’ll give everyone an update on the birthday festivities next week!

    Thanks Debbie-Ann! I’m not sure if you can tell from the post, but I’m pretty much having a ball ;-)

Leave a Reply

