Sarah Davis | Week 11

This (shortened) post-Labor day week as a NFS fellow saw a slight decrease in the amount of people in the office. The past few months we have traditionally seen the staff in the Half Moon Bay office Tuesday and Fridays, but with fall schedule changes adjusting, we found the office quieter than usual. However, through the wonders of the world wide web, we have been able to communicate with the staff about the various projects we are working on for the upcoming weeks.

“Abolitionist Conversations with David Batstone and Jack Dorsey” at the Hub this Tuesday has been the source of most of the preparations this week, however, I have actually had little interaction with the activities. My biggest task for this event is ensuring all of our Freedom Store merchandise makes its way up to the city, arranged in a way that everyone will want to buy our wonderful merchandise, and then ensure whatever is left makes its way back to Half Moon Bay. We have some amazing new Open Hands Jewelry so if anyone is in the San Francisco neighborhood this week, you should come check it out!

As Global Forum quickly approaches, lists are being made and prices for necessary items are being compared. I’m sure I speak for all the fellows when I say we are so excited to be apart of this moment in history when people from all walks of life will come together to discuss, share, and implement ways that the desire to end slavery can be put into action! It’s great seeing all the different facets of this event coming together and to know that I am making one part of that contribution.

Additionally, I have been trying to work more on our Peru Academy Volunteer trip guide. Since Rebecca will be in Peru for a few weeks, I plan on using her as my source to better understand what Academy graduates should be prepared for when traveling to Peru and how best we can be prepared to equip them. It’s exciting to see all the work that is happening in Peru to ensure less children are vulnerable to traffickers coincide with the knowledge Academy grads have learned and wish to practice to help in that prevention.

This weekend I also had the opportunity to leave northern California for a few days and head down to Santa Barbara. This has been a great opportunity for to step back and see the bigger picture of what I am doing with Not For Sale. Sometimes I think we (or at least I) get so caught up in what is right in front of me, which usually results in me either believing I am doing very little. Also, I have found stepping away from my daily ritual and engaging with people who might not spend every day thinking about freeing slaves important, albeit sometimes frustrating. While no one likes to have their beliefs challenged, I know it is important to hear different views and opinions on modern-day slavery, the responsibilities we have, and the method that should be taken to eradicate it. This time down south has also been encouraging as so many of my friends are excited to know what I am doing and ask about my work with Not For Sale.

Thanks again for the amazing support that you have all provided for this opportunity. Many people I have talked to this weekend have been surprised that I have been able to raise all my funds for the last 3 months, but I just remind them it is because of the amazing individuals who are supporting me each step of the way. If you would like to make a contribution toward my fellowship, the link is https://nfs.webconnex.com/sarahdavis.

Thanks all!

Sarah

Leave a Reply

