Rebecca | Week 12

What and incredible week! We started off with a flurry of activity, with all of the last minute preparations for the Abolitionist Conversation Event in the city. I had an absolute blast in my role for the night, and loved helping out where ever I could. The whole event was such an incredible success, with and incredible turn out. It was seriously standing room only and people came to be inspired by Jack Dorsey, co-founder of Twitter, and David Batstone. The live steam of the event can be viewed here http://www.ustream.tv/recorded/9577735 . We had some issues with the sound for the first 5 minutes or so, but the rest is well worth the listen! This whole event highlighted again for me just how incredible the team is, that we could pull off such a great night in so short a time. It makes me excited to think about what Global Forum will be like in just a few short weeks!

This week also saw my role and responsibilities change as I step back a little from Freedom Sunday preparation to focus for the next 3 weeks on Global Forum. There is a lot to be done in a short time, and I’m looking forward to helping out in any way I can. Laura, our operations Manager, does the most amazing job having things organized thinking about the detail needed to execute the big picture. I’m really enjoying working with her on this Forum, and learning from her experience and knowledge.

I’ve really loved getting to know the staff a bit better this week as we’ve worked on different projects together. I have a new found appreciation for the dedication, passion and talent each of them possess for this campaign, as we work together to bring good things to life. I also have been reminded this week of just how thankful I am for Keturah as she works so tirelessly to make sure the four of us get the most from this Fellowship experience. I don’t take for granted the work she does!

This week the Fellows had the opportunity to have an amazing home cooked meal, enjoying beautiful food and wonderful company with the Batstones Senior. It was so lovely and we were spoiled incredibly with Ruth’s gourmet creations. It reminded me so much of the beautiful meals my own mother prepares for festive occasions, and for a moment I missed being home. Which reminds me! I finally managed to change my return flight to Australia and now will be flying home on the 27th of December. I guess I’ll be experiencing Christmas Northern California style this year!

This next week will be packed with Global Forum things that need to be done before I get on a plane to Peru next Thursday! I’m really excited about the trip, but am so surprised at how quickly the time has gone. It’s hard for me to wrap my head around the fact that, if I wasn’t getting on a plane to Peru next week, my time here at Not For Sale would be coming to an end instead. As much as I love Australia and miss my family and friends, I am nowhere near ready to go home yet! So instead, I get to go on yet another adventure. I’ll keep you posted on how it all goes!

Until next time,

Rebecca

https://nfs.webconnex.com/giving/rebeccalowe

Leave a Reply

