Benita Hopkins | Week 15

*”I am only one, but still I am one. I cannot do everything, but still I can
do something; and because I cannot do everything, I will not refuse to do
something that I can do.”*

-Helen Keller

This quote by Helen Keller reminds me of Kru Nam.  I’ve, personally, learned a lot from this women of compassion this week.  We discovered we have a lot in common.  We are both wives and moms, have a compassion for the vulnerable children of the world, don’t mind walking, but HATE hills and love a great chocolate chip/macadamia nut cookie and the Blue Angels.

This was one of the weeks I’d been waiting for!  The week to see a lot of preparation come to fruition.  Sah wa dee ka! (spelled phonetically), to all of you who came to Kru Nam’s Northern California events.Whether you read it in the San Carlos Chamber of Commerce newsletter, heard about it on K-Love or AirOne radio, your church or received an email from me, thank you , thank you, thank you for attending and your financial support for the work being done in Thailand.  We have one more event like this one at Cal. Lutheran University next week before the Global Forum.  If this week was any indication of the next, we will have a grand time.

It’s been great having some down time with Kru Nam and J.K., her interpreter.  We had a whole hour or so alone to really get to know each other as J.K. went to find the record store in Haight Ashbury. It was a lot of fun.  She showed me some of her beautiful jewelry pieces.Very nice pieces!  We sang country music.  For those of you who know me well, you know that’s NOT my favorite, but I discovered she has a lovely voice and knows all the words quite well in English.  John Denver would have been proud of us.  :=)  We talked faith, motherhood, in-laws, just to name a few.  She would periodically hold my hand or pull me to the side to admire beautiful art pieces or to ask a question or just talk a bit.  As we got closer to the Blue Angels practice area, she was amazed!  She loved to watch and video their formations.  She couldn’t keep her eyes off of them.  It was fun to watch her as a little child in a candy store.  Walking the Labryinth while praying in Grace Cathedral and taking pictures of the beautiful art pieces and stained glass reflections on the walls were a special highlight for her as well.  Such a beautiful cathedral!  I had never been inside either, particularly every nook and cranny.  We happened upon a memorial service of a veteran and former priest.  A solemn moment.  A happy moment — when walking pass the Botanical Gardens that houses plants from all around the world.  Kru Nam saw a banana tree from across the street.  That moment was like a child at Christmas, though it made her miss Thailand for a brief moment.

For all you procrastinators out there, it’s not too late to join us at the Global Forum on Human Trafficking next week in Yorba Linda, CA.  There will be many more stories by those really working on the front lines of this evil.  I will look for you there!  Though I’ll be working, please stop to say hello.

We can’t do everything, but we are all “one person who should not refuse to do something.”  I am!  Will you help me?  Log on below . . . and thanks!

Until next time,

Benita

https://nfs.webconnex.com/giving/benitahopkins

Leave a comment