Rebecca Lowe | Week 16

Week 16

It’s taken me longer than usual to write this blog as the words I write seem trite and inadequate in conveying the significance of the past week. The 2010 Global Forum on Human Trafficking was held in Southern California over 2 days with around 800 people attending.

I headed down on Monday, a few days before the Forum, to help Laura and Kilian and Ethan with the last minute preparations. It was so much fun to be a part of the behind the scenes planning and organizing. I really felt so privileged with the role I was given and loved being a part of such a fun team.

The Abolitionist Concert was held Wednesday night and the quality of performers who gave freely of their time was astounding! All who were there were really impressed with the line up and Ethan did an absolutely amazing job putting it on.

Thursday was day one of the conference, and the energy and level of expectation was high. I didn’t personally hear any of the two days of conference but the feedback from the delegates was that they were blown away by the quality of content and the caliber of speakers. One of my new Australian friends, Rev. Dr John Hirt is letting me quote him as saying the Global Forum was “stimulating, energizing, and maximally inspiring.” Laura and Kilian blew me away with the way they planned and executed this entire event.

It has been so great to get connected with the Hirt family this week. John and Carol Hirt are integral in the efforts to begin Not For Sale in Australia and I’m really looking forward to the development of this relationship. It was also a highlight for me to have the opportunity to connect with some other pretty cool Aussies. Paul Colman was the Emcee for the conference and was as funny and entertaining off stage as he was on. I also had a brief conversation with one of my personal Australian heros, the Rev. Tim Costello. Again I find myself marveling that I get to do what I do every day with the people I get to do it with, and  meet some of my heros along the way!

It really felt like this week was the beginning of a whole new chapter, not only for the Not For Sale Campaign, but also for the Modern-day abolitionist movement. Some of the best and brightest minds from around the globe converged for a few days in a giant think tank to brainstorm innovative solutions to perhaps the most complex issue of our time. I’m so excited that I got to be a part of it and am forever grateful to NFS for allowing me the opportunity!

If you are excited about what Not For Sale is doing in the world today, and wish to support my time here, you can donate here https://nfs.webconnex.com/giving/rebeccalowe

Thanks!

6 responses to “Rebecca Lowe | Week 16

  1. Did you meet anyone from Northern Ireland at the conference? Be interested to connect with them if you did.
    Keep up the good work!

  2. I agree, the global forum was amazing and you guys did such a great job organising behind the scenes!

    • Hey Saskia! Thanks! It was so great to be a part of the team.
      it’s been great having you guys around and hearing about the impact you are having!

  3. What a great blog! I really enjoyed reading all of the entries. I love the passion.
    I look forward to reading future posts.

    Keep at it, John

    • Thanks so much John! It also been great following your blog! I love hearing your perspective and wisdom and insight! It’s a great resource for me.

Leave a Reply

