Benita Hopkins | Week 17

10/22/2010

 

Still running!!!!  One more busy week.  I promise after this week, I will take a day to rest.  This time supporting Don at the Investigative Academy.  I love meeting new people and people of the Movement even more.  This week, I had the great pleasure to meet twenty-seven wonderful people from around the world who are inquisitive, excited and very positive about abolishing slavery in their lifetimes.  School teachers, church workers, YWAM’ers, scientists, University Professors, students, photo journalists, entrepreneurs and plain ordinary citizens all coming together to learn about the evil of slavery.

 

Our Chief Investigator, Dennis, once again with the police task force, FBI, an Asian and Pacific Islander organization and our own national staff have all helped the students of the academy understand what’s going on, how to help and where to go from here.  A big welcome to Don Batstone, our new Academy Director on his first academy.  The first week has been a grand success.  This week Investigative, next week After Care with Nola and the MISSSEY organization.  CAN’T WAIT!!!! I experienced Nola’s passion at Global Forum last year.  WHEW!

 

Next week I will be showing the documentary the “Dark Side of Chocolate” at my church, the Mid-Peninsula Vineyard Church.  It will be next Friday night just before Halloween @7.  It’s free and open to the public.  Feel free to stop by!  I want to raise awareness of child labor and human trafficking in the cocoa industry.  Did you know that “70%  of the world’s supply of cocoa beans comes from West Africa where there is an estimated 15,000 child slaves who harvest them?”  Those of you who know me well, know that I love Snicker’s bars.  I have not had one since before July (that’s major for me, by the way), due to what I’m learning about the industry.  It’s not about boycotting for me, but about “buycotting”, as Jack Dorsey from Twitter said so eloquently a few weeks back.  Come out and learn about the world around YOU!

 

As one of the greatest American Abolitionist said, “People might not get all they work for in this world, but they must certainly work for all they get.” And, “The soul that is within me no man can degrade.”  I am anABOLITIONIST!!!!

 

If you want to help me in this regard, please feel free to contact me at benita@notforsalecampaign.org or you can log onto notforsalefellows.wordpress.com .

 

Until next week,

 

Benita

 

https://nfs.webconnex.com/giving/benitahopkins

 

Leave a Reply

