Rebecca Lowe | Week 22

Week 22

 

Happy Thanksgiving everyone! This week I got the opportunity to experience my first American Thanksgiving and although it didn’t turn out quite as planned, I still enjoyed myself. I love the concept of the nation setting aside a day to remember all we have to be grateful for and to give thanks. I know this year I have so much to be thankful for and am amazed at the course my life has taken.

 

I had originally been planning to celebrate with Keturah and her family for Thanksgiving, but instead spent the day with my friend David who was ill. The change of plans was very last minute, so I hadn’t had any time to prepare of shop, but managed to find a store-bought pumpkin pie and celebrated anyway. No turkey for me this year though. Oh well. It’s just one more reason for me to come back to America another time during the holiday season.

 

The rest of the week has been made up of an assortment of things. On Monday, the fellows and some of the staff had the incredible opportunity to have a training session with Keturah’s father-in-law, Chet, who runs a very successful leadership training company. I went in not entirely sure what to expect, having done quite a bit of study and training around leadership before. I have to say, this training was unlike any training I had taken part in before. I’m still processing all I learned, and I imagine I will be for some time.

 

I came out of those 4 hours feeling like it was some of the most valuably invested time of the fellowship experience. Especially as we are coming to the end of our time here in the fellowship, it was so strategic to be thinking about these things and how to successfully step into the future and build teams to truly make a difference. Thank you Chet for your time and thank you Keturah for making this opportunity available. It was just one more reason for me to be grateful this week.

 

Although we were only there for 2 days this week, life at NFS office continues to be busy. It’s so hard to get my head around the fact that there are only 2 more weeks left in the fellowship program. I can’t comprehend that I’m almost at the end of this life changing experience. I’m sure you hear more about that in the coming weeks, but for now, let me say once again how thankful I am for each of you. Your prayers, interest and support have meant so much to me and have helped to make this an amazing season in my life. Happy Thanksgiving!

 

Rebecca

 

 

 

2 responses to “Rebecca Lowe | Week 22

  1. Glad to see your able to continue to be moulded and challenged and inspired to be even more passionate about injustice, in all its sinister forms, than you already are ……
    And , on behalf of the turkey, it says ‘thanks’ for letting it truly celebrate the holiday

  2. Glad to see you are able to continue to be moulded and challenged and inspired to be even more passionate about injustice, in all its sinister forms, than you already are ……
    And , on behalf of the turkey, it says ‘thanks’ for letting it truly celebrate the holiday in the style to which it had become accustomed …

Leave a Reply

