Rebecca Lowe | Week 23

So it’s been another week already! It feels like the time has been flying by this last little while. I’m not yet ready for my time here to finish, but it seems I have little choice and the end date is fast approaching. This week has been spent in a great deal of reflection as we write our evaluations on various aspects of the fellowship program and different experiences we’ve had. A phrase I’ve heard and used a few time this week has been ‘bitter-sweet’. This fellowship experience has been truly amazing and I wouldn’t have wanted to miss it for the world, but it will be so painful to leave.

 

I’m going to share here just a few excerpts from my fellowship experience reflections…

 

I’ve learned that I’m capable of far more than I thought I was…

I’ve learned that sometimes the greatest gifts can be found in the most unexpected places…

I’ve learned the importance of finding what brings you joy in the midst of what can be a very dark world…

I’ve learned that doing life with people who are heading in the same direction as you helps you to stay the course…

…one of the most enduring lessons I’ve learned as part of this fellowship experience is that any efforts will be very limited in it’s effectiveness without relationship. One of the greatest tools we possess in this struggle for justice is the people who are willing to stand alongside us. At Not For Sale I have discovered a group of people who have given their time, considerable talent, resources, focus and energy to a cause so much bigger than themselves. I have been constantly surprised and grateful that I get to wake up every day and do what I do with the people I get to do it with. I wasn’t expecting to be able to say at the end of my time at Not For Sale that I have become friends with so many people here.

On Friday this week those of us who were in town got together at our house for a pot luck thank you dinner for the fellows.It was so lovely to have everyone together, an over abundance of good food, mulled wine and great company. Each of the fellows were presented with a beautiful journal and mixed CD (thanks Kilian and Tini!) and beautiful journal, where each of the staff had taken the time to write personal messages to us all. I will treasure mine and the words contained within them. I was really touching to hear form some of the staff there on the night about how the fellows had impacted them and the movement. It’s so encouraging to feel that what we’ve been investing of time and energies into for the past 6 months has been useful and appreciated.

 

We also had the chance to celebrate Ruth Batstone’s birthday on Friday night. Ruth and Don, David’s parents, have played a beautiful part in our fellowship experience, almost acting as surrogate grandparents! THey have done such an incredible job raising an amazingly talented family who are all passionate about justice and genuinely some of the nicest people on the planet. It was so lovely that we got to celebrate with them.

 

Ok, so it’s not goodbye yet. I still have so much to look forward to in my time here, not the least of which is that fact that my mum arrives on Wednesday! She’ll be here with me until we both fly home at the end of Dec and it will be so great to get to show her a little bit of my world here in SF. I’m so excited to introduce her to the amazing staff here at NFS.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

