David Quimby | Week 4

“Live life fully while you’re here. Experience everything. Take care of yourself and your friends. Have fun, be crazy, be weird. Go out and screw up! You’re going to anyway, so you might as well enjoy the process. Take the opportunity to learn from your mistakes: find the cause of your problem and eliminate it. Don’t try to be perfect; just be an excellent example of being human.” – Anthony Robbins

While doing our fellowship, we are also reading a few books and taking a deeper look into our core values. During a meeting last week with Jono, Shane, and Keturah, we had an easy exercise of writing down twenty of our core beliefs. I started off with some of the basics like “I believe in God, I believe God has a plan for me”. But when I really thought about these beliefs, I had to ask myself what do they really mean? Do I believe that because I actually do think so, do I believe it because someone told me to? To really grow up we have to take a look at our inner self and decide who we really are. After listing a few basic beliefs, I stopped lying to myself, and I started putting my real core beliefs. I want to be a person of the utmost integrity, I want to experience everything that God has set out for me, I believe that we have the ability to control how good our lives will turn out.

One thing that I learned from all of this is that failure is a part of success. Like the quote from Anthony Robbins says, I am going to fail sometimes. I am going to let someone down here and there, I’m going to make mistakes, I’m going to screw up. But when we fail miserably, we have to learn from these experiences and just roll with it. In the end we will be forced to change, forced to become a better person because we will learn from these experiences.

As part of the exercise, we are also printing out and saving our list. We will be building a foundational set of core beliefs for each of us that we will be able to set in stone. As time changes we have the ability to change or delete our own core beliefs. This list will be an easy way to look at and re-evaluate my core beliefs whenever I am having troubles.

The fellowship has been amazing this week! I finally decided to let out one of my ideas about an upcoming event that I wanted to plan. Within a day, my assignment was to set out and write up a proposal for the event. Three days later, I am researching and getting everything set up for the event. It is amazing to see how every idea or “a brain baby” is not frowned upon here at NFS. They want each and every one of us to come up with crazy ideas and be willing to try them out. They are always willing to try new things and test out new ideas!

Today, Saturday the 5th is Not For Sale’s 4th Anniversary and we have celebrated it with an amazing B-day video put together by Shane. It was fun to see everyone let their hair down one day and shoot some hilarious videos that somehow Shane found a way to piece them all together in a genius video. The best part is the enormous amount of outtakes that I’m sure will find their ways out again sometime in the future. We have another video that we are currently working on right now for the fellows, it is top secret but it is going to be amazing! If you have any suggestions for crazy video ideas or things you would want to see, send your questions and we will answer them via a video feed!

Until next week, I’m going to experience everything, I’m going to fail, but at least I will have fun and learn from doing it!

Leave a Reply

