Shane Vermooten | Week 4

Its amazing how those moments or conversations that you really need, happen at just the right time, no sooner, no later. Since our fellows group discussion last week about values and beliefs, I have really been asking myself how does my faith make a difference to the way I live. I have been wrestling with that question, and at the same time been working on the “Freedom Sunday Worship Video” and one of the verses that we used in the video was the passage from Isiah, “Is not this the kind of fasting I have chosen: to loose the chains of injustice, and untie the cords of the yoke, to set the oppressed free, and break every yoke?” as I saw this verse over and over while editing, I realized that this is how my faith makes a difference in the way I live, I do what I do because of my faith and that is work to loose the chains of injustice and set the oppressed free. My faith is what resulted in me getting involved in abolition in South Africa and its what caused me to come and do a fellowship on the other side of the world even though the exchange rate is heavily against me. And while I definitely still need to work on things in my every day life, I have started a wild journey that leaves me guessing where I will be even 6 months from now and I am loving every moment of it, and at least for the moment that’s how my faith is changing me.

On Thursday I was busy crossing the street on my way to the office at the same time Allison was driving past, she picked me up and gave me a lift to the office, we chatted for about 15 minutes, which is long considering I was only 30 seconds away from the office when she picked me up. This was just one of those conversations that comes at a perfect time and is exactly what I needed that at that moment, we chatted about projects, work, faith, and some of the crazy ideas I had going around in my head, and this is what I love about Not For Sale, instead of saying, “Oh cool, put that idea on the backburner and get back to real work” they encourage people to dream. The specific role for me during my time as a fellow is communications, and so far that has been a ton of editing, which I have enjoyed, but my burning passion is story telling and it was awesome to discuss how I can use this in different areas of Not For Sale.

Tomorrow the freedom store is going to be closed for superbowl Sunday, so we are all going down to San Francisco to go to Allison’s church and then we are going to watch the game with some people from work, If only I knew a little more about the game, well at least I can just celebrate no matter who wins I will have a good time.

Thank you for following my journey this far, look forward to sharing many more awesome moment with you.

Leave a Reply

