Shane Vermooten | Week 14

This week was a rather odd week in terms of traditional work, and I am sure when I tell you where I went you are going to say to yourself, “Sounds more like a holiday to me.” But let me go back a few steps.
There is this conference every year called NAB, and it is the largest gathering of “broadcasting professionals” from all around the world, this is the place where many of the big companies release new camera’s and equipment, I always thought it would be awesome to be able to attend one year and see what its all about. Well this year I got that opportunity, Gabe just casually mentioned that he was hoping to go and at the last minute got permission to go for the week, and 2 days later we were in the car starting our 10 hour journey to investigate what new technologies are available that we can use for NotForSale.tv. When we arrived in Vegas, yes we did actually go there to work, it was already dark so we just went straight o our hotel and just collapsed we didn’t go out that night. The next morning we got up early so that we could be at the exhibition hall when it opened and from Tuesday morning onwards I was basically on my feet all day everyday, needles to say my feet were done by the end of day 1 after walking around for 9 hours straight. This was the first time I had ever been to Vegas so in the evenings after long days on my feet we went out and walked around the strip, which was a very interesting experience, at times Vegas reminded me of being in Bangkok with people standing on nearly every corner trying to advertise some sort of sexual services. The conference was amazing and we did see many pieces of technology that we can use to bring NotForSale.tv to life, but as unpopular as it may be to say if I don’t make it back to Vegas anytime soon I wont be to upset, It was an experience but I think the excessiveness of everything there is just to much for me. After Vegas I came with Gabe to visit his family and it has been a fun 2 days, and we start the 7 hour drive back to San Francisco tomorrow just in time to start the new week. We have already planned a brainstorming meeting for NFS.tv on Tuesday so we can see the possibility of integrating some of the new technology we found this week.

Thank you very much for taking the time to follow my story.

Leave a Reply

