David Quimby | Week 17

“If I’d told God my plans 50 yrs ago, God would’ve laughed. If he’d told me his plans for me, I’d have been overwhelmed” (Dr. Sam Mayhugh, Olivet Nazarene University ’61).

Yesterday, I graduated from Olivet Nazarene University. YAY! …. It’s scary to think that four years of my life were quickly summed up into once service. I am completely done at Olivet Nazarene University! It hasn’t quite hit me yet and I have a mixed heart of emotions, seeing friends from the past brought back great memories but also gave me a major reality check. $20,000+ in loans later, I have a great opportunity to shoot for any goal I have set out. I don’t know exactly where to go, what to do, but I believe I have to keep pushing forward. The quote above came from a graduate of the 1961 class – Sam Mayhugh and I found it chilling to think how true this is for even just the last few years for me. For the past 4 months I have been working with Not For Sale participating in their 6 month fellowship. If someone would have told me a year ago that I would have been working with them, I wouldn’t have known how to get there or even what to do. God has a way of working things out if we are willing to put in a little elbow grease on our own.

I can easily say that the first four months of this fellowship have taught me so much. I have learned so much about being a leader, taking charge, working in an intense environment, and so much more. These are things that will stick with me for the rest of my life and will help me to get where I need to be. I may have learned these skills down the road but I may have missed a ton of opportunities along the way. By learning them now, I can be successful in anything that I try. Will it be with Not For Sale? Very possibly, but if not I will be successful because of the training that they have given me. I really have found a passion for working in the anti- human trafficking movement. To see the freedoms that each of us have everyday makes it hard to think that people can so easily have these freedoms stolen around the world.

We are living in a blessed nation, living very comfortable lives. Can we be content knowing that others around the world may never experience what we have? Not because they are in poverty but because someone else is stealing there life. Human trafficking is not something I am willing to sit by and watch. When I was younger, I wanted a job that paid well, now, I hope for a job that pays enough so that I can go out and help save others lives. Not For Sale is allowing me to make a difference in my lifetime. I don’t want to be remembered for what I’ve done, I want someone to be able to live the life that might have been stolen from them because of my efforts.

Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

