David Quimby | Week 18

How is it possible that a week can fly by so quickly? I got back into town on Tuesday night from a two week trip to Nashville and Chicago. It was a great time to reconnect with family and friends that I haven’t seen in quite a while. The best thing I have to say is that – I am officially a college graduate!! It is so freeing to know that I am done with the bulk amount of studying, classes, etc, that comes with the whole educational process. But what I do know is that I am not done learning and one goal of mine is to keep continually learning throughout my life. This week with Not For Sale, I will be particularly focusing in on Slaverymap.org and doing more investigatory work. I am really really excited about what I am doing now as this is what I went to school for and where my passion is. I am learning new things every day about the law process, things that were just words in a text book to me in college, but now relevant to what I am doing.

If you are interested in Human trafficking and want to get involved in the movement, I really truly urge you to check out the fellowship with Not For Sale. It’s so hard to put into words what I have learned through this whole process but it has lead me through an entire transformation. Throughout the fellowship you will continually be challenged, pushed, and stressed out but the feeling once you have gotten through it and you can turn around and see your work, it’s amazing. I have done things with Not For Sale that no 23 year old should be able to do, made contacts will people that can make changes, and really made an impact on the anti-human trafficking input. The best part is that we still have 6 weeks left, this thing isn’t through yet.

This week is going to be an exciting one. Monday, I will hit the ground running as I am working on getting slaverymap.org to become more user friendly. Tuesday, the three fellows are making a special trip down to Six Flags Great America. We have talked about going since we all got here and finally decided it was time to do it. It’s going to take some convincing but we are going to try and get Keturah on a roller coaster (shh.. don’t tell her). The rest of the week I will be working on a few more things for Slaverymap, as well as doing some investigational work, and also continuing to do work on the Free2work.org platform!

Till Next week – Have a great one

Leave a Reply

