Diana Cannon | Week 8

I don’t know how many of you have ever thought about the story behind Labor Day. Maybe you’re like me and have only ever viewed it as a nice day off of school or work. This year, though, I decided to research it. It’s actually a really cool holiday. It became a federal holiday in 1894, but 30 states were already honoring it before then. Essentially, it was meant to be exactly what it sounds like it was meant to be: a day to honor the laborers and their contribution to society. In fact, in the early 1900s, the Sunday before Labor Day was known as Labor Sunday and was “dedicated to the spiritual and educational aspects of the labor movement”. It used to be celebrated with parades and festivals. By the way, yes, before you ask, I did get all of this information from the ever-reliable wikipedia.

The point is, I didn’t know any of that until I looked it up. Labor day mostly means a BBQ to me. I had never thought about why the day was important before. I would be willing to bet that a lot of people haven’t. The meaning behind the day is ignored in favor of the products it produces that are more relevant to us (a day off and an excuse for a picnic), just the same way that the actual workers are ignored in favor of whatever it is that they produce. This labor day, I hope everyone sincerely thought about labor rights, the same way that I sincerely hope you think about where every product they buy comes from. That said, I also hope everyone has a fun and relaxing weekend. See you next week!

Leave a Reply

