Mandolyn Orrell | Week 11

Week 11

 

Some people have been asking for a general update, and want to know what I do in the day-to-day life.  So, I thought this would be a great time to give an update, since the fellowship is now exactly halfway completed!

My typical day is filled with loads of emails, quite a number of conference calls, with meetings and webinars peppered in between.  I work primarily on the CAN platform, which is our Community Abolitionist Network… aka- our grassroots campaign.  We have directors in a number of states, and a few countries.  I interview potential CAN directors, and communicate directly with our current CAN directors.  I basically get to be the liaison between our grassroots directors and Jill, our Managing Director, who is the staff over the CAN platform.  I give a lot of the information from the headquarters to the CAN directors, and give information from the CAN directors to Jill.  When the CAN directors have any issues, I take care of what I can, and if I don’t know the answer, I talk with the staff who will know the answers.  It’s been a great way to learn what all the staff members do, and what all NFS truly does.

Another big project I am working on is the Fast For Freedom Prayer Guide.  Last year, my church, Onnuri English Ministry (OEM) in Seoul, South Korea kicked off the first ever Fast For Freedom.  After Freedom Sunday, we fasted during the Lent season.  What we did was fasted one meal a day, Monday through Saturday (no fasting on Sunday, as to follow a traditional Lent fast), and the money we would have spent on food, we donated to NFS’ Thailand project.  We donated approximately $5 USD per meal per person, and as a church, we were able to give over $70,000 USD towards the Thailand children’s village project.

So, this year, Not For Sale is publishing a Prayer Guide to go along with the Fast For Freedom.  I am basically the coordinator for the project.  I am writing a few entries, doing the formatting, design, layout, and editing, and also was in charge of recruiting a number of the writers.  I am working closely with Kevin Austin, our Abolitionist Faith Community director, and Pastor Eddie Byun, my pastor from OEM.  The plan is to have it published on our Freedom Sunday website by the Global Forum.  I have loved working on this big project!

Something new that I’m doing is some graphic design for NFS.  Just simple stuff, really.  I have a little bit of experience in this, and have really wanted to use my art skills for NFS, if they needed it.  Well, once I mentioned it to Keturah, she immediately gave me a couple of projects.  They have been really needing some graphics done, and I’m glad I’ll get to use some of my skills through this.  It seems like a win-win for everyone.  Unless they don’t like my work… then it’s just a win for me, I suppose.  ;)

Well, that’s about all I do, besides reading books for the fellowship, posting cases on the SlaveryMap, working in the Not For Sale Store a few days a month, and a few random things for the Global Forum.  It’s been a lot of work, but a great learning experience.

Leave a Reply

