Diana Cannon | Week 16

So this is life after Global Forum.  There was a time when I was pretty skeptical that it could exist.  It’s nice, though.  Everything is less high-stress and there aren’t as many deadlines and pressure-packed days as there were before.  At least, that’s been true so far.  And this may be the last time I even mention Global Forum in a blog.  Ever!  That’s totally crazy.  So this week has been about recovering, reviewing, and picking up the projects that had been delayed until after that fateful day had passed.  As such, there’s not a whole lot to talk about.
I noticed, though, that no one covered Hollywood last week.  Obviously, that’s because we were all primarily talking about Global Forum (It’s like I can’t stop saying it!  Even now!  Globalforumglobalforumglobalforum!  Ok, I think it’s out of my system).  Still, though, I thought maybe one of us would have given the low down.  Since that didn’t happen, I’ll give it to you this week.  Although, since I’m doing that, I’m sure everyone else is going to have the exact same idea and we’ll now all be talking about Hollywood the way we were all talking about Global Forum last week (I swear to you, that will be the last time I mention it!).  Ah well.  If it happens, it happens.
So: Hollywood.  We have a partnership with AllSaints, and they’ve designed an entire fashion line to support our cause.  The best part about it is that they’ve cracked down on their supply chains and are monitoring them to make sure that the clothes in this particular line are not tainted by slavery.  I’m pretty sure they’re the first major fashion line to do something like that.  So, of course, we had a giant Hollywood party to launch the line in the US (it was launched in the UK a while ago).  It was so surreal.
First of all, it was at the Music Box, which is a pretty epic venue.  It looks like one of those old and ornate theaters, but refurbished into a night club.  Even the bathrooms were trendier than I am.  Second of all, when I gave my name to the lady with the list, she gave me a silver wristband, which apparently meant that I was a VIP and had to enter by the side door and walk through a whole line of cameras to get in.  Why were the cameras there?  Because, third of all, the whole thing was filmed to be the first episode of a new reality TV show, every episode of which follows a different non-profit, and Not For Sale was picked for episode one.  So there weren’t just cameras at the door.  They were everywhere.  If the show ever airs, it may include some clips of me dancing, but it will never include clips of me making eye contact with any camera ever.  Apparently I’m intimidated by them.  Good to know.
It was a fun event, though.  It was great to see people enthusiastic about buying these shirts, knowing what they stand for.  It was also cool to see Not For Sale operating on different levels.  If I look at my wrist right now, I see the silver wristband (yes, I’m still wearing it) that represents to me the glitz and glamour of Hollywood and the high-level, big-name campaigns that NFS does.  But I also see the red rubber bracelet that Mark Wexler gave to every staff member after reading aloud an email from someone at one of our overseas branches expressing gratitude and awe for the help that Not For Sale provides on the ground level.  Working in the office day by day, we’re somewhere between the two, and it’s good for me to keep them both in mind, because they’re both important.  Big, cultural change, and small steps provided for the children, women, and men who need it right now and can’t wait for those cultural shifts.  Not For Sale kinda does it all.

Leave a Reply

