Mandolyn Orrell | Week 16

 

This week has been a bit of a blur.  Right after the Global Forum, many of us from NFS went down to Hollywood for a couple of days to attend the launch party of the American NFS line of AllSaints tees.  It happened at the MusicBox, and was a LOT of fun!  I was totally out of my element that night, but really glad I went.  I got to meet up with a friend that lives in Hollywood, as well, and invited him to come to the party.  We danced, chatted, had brazilian for dinner, and just finally let loose a little.  It felt so good to have one night that wasn’t focused on the horrible reality that is modern-day slavery.  For me, it was a bit of a reality check, meaning that it is possible to have fun while working against something so dark.  I think I often times forget to have fun, and take things too seriously.  My life, up until now, required me to take things seriously.  It’s a weird/hard lesson to learn when you are 26…

 

When you take things too seriously… you get stressed out… when you get stressed out…. you get sick.  Yep, I was in bed from Wednesday evening until Monday afternoon.  I’m feeling much better than I was, but am still on the mend.  I never had the flu before this week, and let me tell you, I never want to experience THAT again.

 

I’m learning more and more the importance of boundaries, and taking care of me first.  I always thought that was a selfish thing to do/say.  But, I am realising that if you don’t take care of yourself, you really can’t take care of anyone else, or be effective in much.  I am starting to take care of myself first, learning more and more to be my own advocate, and to say what I think (in appropriate settings).  One thing this fellowship has offered is a lot of time for introspection.  I’ve been digging deep into who I am, what’s important to me, etc.  What I haven’t been able to see is not only why or how the work I am doing is important, but what am I to learn from each experience.  I’ve been approaching things from a “get it done” attitude rather than, “What am I being taught in this experience” attitude.  There are things I do everyday that from the “get it done” attitude is an utter waste of time.  But, when looking at it from the attitude of, “what can I learn from this”, I see a little bit more meaning into the things I am doing.

Leave a Reply

