Diana Cannon | Looking Forward

Alright, so this was a hard one.  But this is what I came up with:
So this week’s topic is “looking forward”.  That’s definitely something I’ve been doing a lot of lately.  With the fellowship coming to a close, I have to figure out where my life is going next.  To be honest, it’s incredibly stressful.  I’m the kind of person that really enjoys planning, provided that I know all of the factors.  When the future is full of “maybe”s and “at some point”s, though, the uncertainty gets to me.
That’s why I’m not going to talk too much in this entry about my personal plans.  When people know anything about them at all then they have grounds to ask me about them and then I have to say “No, I have no idea how that’s going to work yet,” and then they feel awkward and I feel stressed and the conversation doesn’t go well.  So if you really want to know, then ask me in a few months when (hopefully) all the things that are up in the air right now will be more definite one way or the other.  If they are not, you will know by the panic that leaks into my eyes when you ask.  At that point, kindly change the topic.  I appreciate it in advance.
There are plenty of other things to “look forward” towards, though.  I am not the center of the universe.  For example, we could look forward in the movement.  Where will Not For Sale and the rest of abolitionists be in five years?  In ten?  Well… I don’t know.  Haha.  I really don’t.
Here’s the thing about Not For Sale.  It adapts and is dedicated to “looking forward” so much that it’s impossible to predict where it will end up.  If the staff decides that something isn’t working, it drops it or rethinks it and moves on.  The organization does this because it doesn’t want to end up doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results.  The goal is the end human trafficking.  The truth is that no one knows how.  If they did know how, it probably would have been done already.  Not For Sale is trying its very best to figure out how, but the only way it can do that is through trial and error.  Because of that, I have no idea what the organization will look like in five years.  Just look at how much it has changed and grown and done in the last five.  A lot, considering that it didn’t exist before then.  Now look at it.  I’m incredibly excited to see what happens next (even if I can’t tell you what it is :P).

Leave a Reply

