Christy Sobolik | Week 19

 

So it just hit me the other day that there are only three weeks left in the fellowship, and only two full weeks of work, since this coming week is Thanksgiving week.  And I’m realizing that I may not be able to complete all the projects I would like to do.  There are always so many exciting things going on at Not For Sale, and they will continue to go on after I’m gone.  This is me being narcissistic again, but it’s weird to think about Not For Sale going on without me.  Although I don’t know where I will be next spring, I really hope that in some capacity I can still be involved with the exciting things they’re doing.

 

In the meantime, though, I’ve got some exciting projects I’m working on now.  Hank and I (or rather, Hank under my direction) have done some more website making, this time doing some changes to the Student Abolitionist Movement website.  I’m beginning conversations with some students about advocating for ethically sourced and produced goods on their campuses.  Jono and I have begun really working to conceptualize what the Academy Alumni Network is going to look like.  And we had a t-shirt folding party last week, so all the new shirts we brought back from Global Forum are all finally sorted and folded in bins, and  the ongoing project of organizing the garage is finally nearing completion.  These projects, as well as all the minutiae of e-mails and shipments and such, will keep me very busy until the end of the fellowship.

 

The coming week is Thanksgiving, and Kerry, my college roommate, is in town for the week to celebrate Thanksgiving with me.  This will be my first Thanksgiving away from my family, which will be a bit strange.  My parents did come to visit me last week, so I was able to spend a good deal of quality time with them.  However, it will be odd not to be with them at Thanksgiving, so I am so happy that Kerry has come to share her holiday with me.  I am already making plans with her and the other fellows about who will be cooking what.  So even though it will be weird celebrating Thanksgiving away from my family, I’m excited about it.

 

In the spirit of Thanksgiving, I thought I’d take a moment to reflect on some things I am grateful for.  I know it’s a little cheesy, but I have so much to be thankful for, that I thought I’d go for it anyway.  I’m thankful of course for my freedom, that I have not had to undergo the sorts of exploitation that so many people in the world face.  I’m thankful that I’m in a secure enough position, financially, health-wise, etc, to have been able to participate in this fellowship.  I’m thankful that I have a wonderful family who totally supports me in taking on this endeavor, although it is unpaid and takes me away from home.  I’m thankful that I have amazing friends who fly out to California to see me, or who send me their love from afar.  And I’m thankful for the Not For Sale staff, who throw themselves into their work with such dedication and thoughtfulness, and who have chosen a job that is not easy, because it’s a cause they believe in.

 

There are so many more things I could list, but I think I’ll leave it at that for now.  I hope all of you in the U.S. have great Thanksgivings, and that all of you outside the U.S. just generally have great weeks.

 

Christy

Leave a Reply

