Christy Sobolik | Week 21

 

Hello, all.  Sorry you didn’t hear from me last week.  I was a bit under the weather, and then work took over and left me no time to blog.  Jamee and the communications team worked really hard on a promotion for Black Friday (“Turn Black Friday Orange!”).  So the Store made lots of sales, which is great.  It also meant, though, that I spend a lot of time at the shipping table tlast week.  I’m pretty sure the ladies at the post office have begun to dread my daily arrival, arms full of packages to send.

 

So remember that time vortex in Sunnyvale.  I thought we had successfully closed it after the Global Forum, but the residual effects of its vortextual influence still linger.  Because this morning I woke up, and there was only one week left in the fellowship.  I really have no idea how this happened.

 

I came into this fellowship not really having an idea of what I am good at, or what skills I have to offer the abolitionist movement.  And to be honest, I still don’t have a good idea of what I am good at, or of what it actually is that I can do.  That said, I think I’ve learned a lot – about what’s it’s like to work in the non-profit sector, about ways Not For Sale is totally different from the majority of the non-profit sector, about what species of solutions can really create long-term change.  And I think I’ve grown a lot on a personal and professional level.  I’ve had to multi-task on several different projects and platforms – something I had to do in college, but that was intensified to another level on the Fellowship.  I’ve improved my ability to prioritize tasks, and I’ve learned to accept the empowerment given me by supervisors, and to make the decisions they need me to make.

 

I still have no idea where I’m going from here.  Which is frustrating and slightly scary.  But I do feel like I learned a lot during my time here, and that I’ll be able to take those skills with me to whatever I do next.

 

This is going to be a crazy week.  I’ve got a lot of projects to finish up, and I want to leave behind clean and organized inboxes and such for those who come after me.  But, you will hear from me once more next week, after everything is over.  So until then, have a wonderful week!

 

Christy

 

 

Leave a Reply

