Diana Cannon | Final Blog Post

So this is it.  The Last Blog.  Even though I keep telling myself that, it still hasn’t fully hit me that once I finish typing this and hit send, my time as a fellow is over.  Maybe it will sink in on Monday when I don’t wake up until noon because there’s no need to drag myself out of bed at 7 (counting snoozes, more like 7:30) in order to make it to Half Moon Bay at 9.  Then again, maybe not.  I wouldn’t be surprised if I do wake up at noon, panic, and make it halfway up 280 before I realize that no one is expecting me there.
So I’m not a fellow.  By the time you read this, that will really be true.  Strange.  Since I’m finally authorized to talk about it, though, I will let you know that my time at Not For Sale isn’t over.  Starting next year, I’ll be doing some contract research for Free2Work.  I’m super excited about that.  Partly because the research I do is my favorite part of what I’ve been doing all these months and it will be fantastic to focus on just that, partly because I’m not ready to say goodbye to everyone yet, and partly because I’ll get to see the new batch of fellows coming in.  I plan to befriend at least one of them in order to make them my spy in the fellows house. If any of you guys are reading this and would like to volunteer, just give me a wink when we meet and I will contact you in a covert manner subsequently.  Actually, though, I want to meet the new fellows because I think it will make me feel the difference between where I am now and where I was on my first day.  I’ve learned a lot since then, and I’ve grown a lot as a person since then.  But in a lot of ways, it still feels so recent that it’s difficult for me to specify exactly how I’ve changed.
I know they’re all good changes, though.  I’ve really valued these last six months.  There were definitely highs and lows, but overall I know that I’m coming away from this with new skills, new friends, and a more mature passion for this cause.  So even if it is the end of my fellowship, all of those things will stay with me and change the way that I live my life from here on out.  And with that thought, I bid you goodbye.  It’s been fun, readers.  But now it’s time to make the way for some new abolitionist bloggers.  You’ll meet them soon.
All the best,
Diana

Leave a Reply

