Christy Sobolik | Final Blog Post

NFS Fellowship Blog, Week 22—There and Back Again

(Beware, ye who enter here.  There be cheesiness ahead.)

 

Looking back on my fellowship, a quote from The Lord of the Rings comes to mind:

 

“‘It’s a dangerous business, Frodo, going out of your door,’ [Bilbo] used to say. ‘You step into the Road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there is no knowing where you might be swept off to.’”

 

I feel like this same thing could be said about working with Not For Sale.  From the beginning it’s been such a whirlwind of activity, and each time I started a new project, I was never sure where it was going to take me.  While I didn’t battle any dragons or destroy any evil talismans in the last six months, it’s been quite an adventure.  And I would like to think that in some small way, my work at Not For Sale has helped bring down the real-life Saurons of our time.

 

There were a lot of challenges that came along with this fellowship—some of which I expected, and some of which I didn’t expect.  Sometimes it was really hard.  And sometimes it was distinctly non-glamorous.  But that’s the reality of being an abolitionist.  To bring about this kind of massive social change, a great deal of hard work, sacrifice, and humility will be required.  And sometimes I just want to run away from it all, and go find a safe job that I’m good at, where the stakes of failure are much lower.  But I’m reminded of another moment from The Lord of the Rings.  Frodo is speaking to Gandalf about his fear of bearing the responsibility of the Ring Bearer.

 

“‘I wish it need not have happened in my time,’ said Frodo.

‘So do I,’ said Gandalf, ‘and so do all who live to see such times.  But that is not for them to decide.  All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.’”

 

I’ve decided what to do with the time that’s given to me, and I’ve decided that I will, in some way, bear the responsibility of destroying the evil that is slavery.  I may be leaving the Not For Sale office, but I am not leaving the abolitionist movement.

 

My immediate next steps can be summed up in the famous words of those television commercials from the 80s:

 

“Christy, you’ve just completed the Not For Sale Fellowship.  What are you going to do next?

“I’m going to Disneyland!”

 

That’s right.  I will be celebrating the completion of the fellowship by spending a day in Disneyland with my mom.  After that, I will hit the grad school apps, and start seriously figuring out where I am going from here.  Whatever that is, though, I will continue to be a part of this fight.

 

So then, for the last time, over and out.

Christy

Leave a Reply

