Hank Voge | Final Blog Post

Well, the fellowship has ended. I am enjoying a three-week break with my family, but Not For Sale has hired me to work from January through March on their videos.  I have been using my time off to reflect on my goals for the next three months of work.

Before I left, one of our designers suggested that the video titles and logos should “match the quality of the videos.” Now, this sort of recommendation is just a polite way of saying that the video titles suck. Gabe thinks they are fine, so maybe I shouldn’t worry. Tie goes to the videographer.  But I’m the sort of person who, given half a chance, will worry about everything he can.  So I have been researching and designing new title designs. I am pretty pumped by what I have done. I wonder if Gabe will approve the changes.

Let’s see… Other goals.  I would like to make more creative videos. Many of my assignments are announcements with B roll on top–which is necessary and fine by me. But I would love more opportunities to stretch my creative muscles. Shooting the store commercial and the free2work promo was lots of fun.  I’m not going to wait for the opportunity. I am going to enter every project wondering, “How can I make this different than the others?”

I would like to get better at motion graphics. I have been rocking Apple Motion 4.0, but the program is annoying. Half the things I want to do are impossible with that program. As I get better, I keep thinking about Photoshop and After Effects. By March, I would love to be talented enough for Adobe Studio.

And there you have my goals. This blog entry is my last, so for anyone reading these, you will have to watch the videos to see how I am doing on these goals. Thanks for reading.

“In giving freedom to the slave, we assure freedom to the free–honorable alike in what we give and what we preserve.  We shall nobly save, or meanly lose, the last best hope of Earth.”   –Abraham Lincoln, 1862

Leave a Reply

