Holly Boles | Week 1

Hey everyone- my name is Holly and I am one of the (seven) new fellows at Not For Sale. I have to say, I have been looking forward to this week for a very long time.

I grew up in Minnesota where I attended Northwestern College, studying Public Relations, Biblical Theology, and Intercultural Studies. During my senior year I spent 4 months living in Mukono, Uganda. There I studied at the Ugandan Christian University, worked with an orphanage, and traveled around Uganda and Rwanda. My time there opened my eyes to a world I did not know existed, and I came back looking for a passion.

Two years ago I found myself listening to a speaker talk about child sex trafficking. Completely overwhelmed that this issue even existed, I spent the next 2 years researching and reading everything I could get my hands on. I discovered lots of organizations that were fighting sex trafficking and human slavery, and spent the summer working with love146 in Connecticut. I new I had to do more with this newfound passion, so I quit my job, sold my belongings, and drove from Connecticut to California to participate in the ‘Not For Sale’ 6 month fellowship.

We started the week getting to know each other and learning the ropes to NFS. The first day Keturah sent us on a scavenger hunt around Half Moon Bay. My team lost (by a landslide) but we had a lot of fun and learned about some fun things in the area. The rest of the week involved training, introductions to the rest of the staff, and overviews of our assignments and projects for the fellowship. As part of my fellowship, I will be working with the NFS StoreThe Student Abolitionist MovementNFS Partners, and operations of the entire office.

NFS is currently hosting an ‘I Am an Abolitionist’ Video Contest, asking people to make a video showcasing how they fight modern-day slavery. Sam and I teamed up to make a video called ‘because no one should be for sale.’ You can watch it here.

As I look ahead to the next 6 months here at Not For Sale, I am overflowing with emotions of gratitude and excitement, so grateful to be working alongside people who are making a difference in this overwhelming platform.

2 responses to “Holly Boles | Week 1

  1. Absolutely loved the video you made for the contest! Glad to get to meet you last week and excited for the next 6 months!

  2. Loved the video (and the music too!) Looking forward to chatting about operations tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

